It is all in a name

Standard

IMG_0707

For some reason when I find out the name of my injury it makes the injury less scary.

 

This week my knee pain got a name, Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome. After countless MRIs, poking, prodding, and x-rays we finally have a diagnosis. It makes the pain less scary because now it is not just something in my head, with a diagnosis it makes it real. (Not that the pain wasn’t real before it’s just frustrating when your tests come back normal, people begin to wonder if you might be a little loopy.)

 

So now that we have a diagnosis that means we can move forward to treatment. Unfortunately I found out there really isn’t much we can do except strengthen and stretch. Which I’m good with, I also have to make sure I use solid form when I run and no deep knee bends for me.

 

The other unfortunate piece of information is this injury can be pretty debilitating. The doctor told me there are a number of Marines who get medically separated because of this type of knee pain.

 

So while I am super stoked with a diagnosis I have to be mindful and respect this type of pain. It sounds like it can impact my favorite things to do list. At least with a name, now we know what we are fixing.

 

 

I can start a plan for pain management and therapy. But I also have to be mindful that this type of injury has the potential to wreak havoc on the activities I love. But now that we have a name for the pain, we can stop diagnosing and start fixing.

running coastie

Leave a Reply

