Just a mile

Standard

new_york_city_marathon1

A few weeks ago I started running again. Now running is a slow and painful process. I am in the same spot as anyone new to running. Each time I go out now it’s just a mile.

Just a mile is a phrase that used to mean something very different than it does today. To a distance runner just a mile is a short distance, something close to a sprint. Today just a mile is a restriction, the distance I need to start with to build up strength in my legs and feet.

Today thousands of runners will pound the pavement along the streets of New York City. I will be watching the race on television, trying to find some running inspiration. I’m still unsure about my running future. But as I watch the race I will remember that each one of those runners (even the elite ones) had to start somewhere. It was probably with just a mile. I guess that’s not a bad place to start.

Princess Marathon 2012 2

3 thoughts on “Just a mile

  1. I know how frustrating starting over from the beginning can be, but I’m glad you get to enjoy a mile. 🙂 I’m in the same predicament with my workouts. It can be discouraging at times, but then I stop & think about how fortunate I am to be able to work out at all. Best of luck to you!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

