That voice in your head, it’s trying to tell you something

Standard

The-Simpsons-Voices

 

Do you ever get a voice in your head? One that goes so far as to tap you on the shoulder, shake its head, and say bad idea.

 

Most people have. The better question might be how often do you listen to that voice?

 

It is telling you something for a reason.

 

I’ve heard that voice a few times in my life. There have been days when I refused to paddle out. I couldn’t explain it but something just felt off. I’ve been on a run and felt a pain in my leg and just knew I needed to stop running and walk.

 

Then there are the times when I disregard that voice. Most recently when I was playing volleyball. As soon as I landed after a hit something felt wrong with my knee. But did I stop playing? Of course not because that would have been the smart thing to do.

 

As I go through the recovery process with my knee it just doesn’t seem to be getting better. The past few days the voice in my head went from a gentle reminder to more of a yell. I listened and went back to the doctor, and now I have an MRI scheduled.

 

I’ve also tapered off of most of my workouts. I am still doing my leg lifts and walking. But aside from that I am forcing myself to stay out of the gym. The side affects are tighter fitting jeans and feeling fluffy, but it seems like a small price to pay.

 

The last time I went cross fit I tried doing a box step up with a weight. It’s a really simple exercise and move. When I did, my knee felt like someone took a scraper to the inside of it. This time my knee took matters into its own hands and sent a really strong message.

 

A few times during the week I was tempted to go back to cross fit. But that voice in my head kept saying no. This week one my students offered some more sound advice by saying I could hurt my knee more since we don’t really know what’s wrong. Thanks Vince, great advice.

 

I admit I am still really bummed out about not being able to do some of my most favorite things. But the time away just feels like the right thing to do. I think I am making peace with life right now. The upside of finding peace is I am less likely to turn to ice cream.

Leave a Reply

