When did I become a homework assignment?

Standard

Swell Time

DSCN3376

Last weekend Kia started driver’s ed. Let us start by saying how on earth did she ever get old enough to drive. The transition from really super cute cuddly kid to grown-up real person happened too fast for me.

DSCN3375

After she finished class last Sunday, I asked if she had any driving homework. She said nothing, except to watch adults drive. At that moment Jim and I became her homework assignment.

 

I had to pause. Her homework is to watch how we drive; how we react to other drivers, how we look or don’t look at our cell phones, how we cheat and run the light because we are too impatient, how we check our blind spot before we change lanes, and in general how we act behind the wheel. My mind raced, doing a mental checklist of sorts, trying to decide what kind of driver I am.

 

View original post 80 more words

Leave a Reply

