Epictetus-Enchoridion-Listening

Standard

Swell Time

WP_000327

I love sharing the phrase; you have two ears and one mouth so you should use your ears twice as much as your mouth. I’m not sure where I first heard it or when I started using it, but I found it appropriate in my job working as a facilitator as the Senior Enlisted Academy. One of the topics we cover is effective listening. What better way to listen than to stop talking and use your ears?

As I started writing this it occurred to me I didn’t know the origin of the saying. So I let Google do what Google does, help me find random bits of information. It didn’t take long and I found it. Epictetus is credited with “We have two years and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak”.  Epictetus was a Greek philosopher who was born around 55AD and…

View original post 247 more words

Leave a Reply

