Choose Your Words Wisely

Standard

Words to consider.

Swell Time

Choose your words wisely……..words have power.

DSC08107

Recently I was having a conversation with someone about sexual assault. We had a discussion about the word survivor and victim. These words can be used interchangeably when talking about sexual assault, even though these words are very different. Each word paints a very different picture.

DSC08117

When I hear the word victim I think of a person who is helpless. I think of a person who needs to be taken care of. I think of a person who is weak.

DSC08114

When I hear the word survivor I think of a person who is capable of taking care of them. I think of a person who can overcome adversity. I think of a person who has strength.

DSC01391

People reveal a lot about themselves with the words they chose. A person’s words paint a picture of their values and their worldview.

DSC09631

One of the most important…

View original post 108 more words

Leave a Reply

