Rain, rain go away……

Standard

Most race mornings I am so excited. I get my breakfast, pack my stuff, and expend unnecessary energy worrying about being late for the start. Yesterday was a completely different story. We woke up to the sound of pouring rain.

I sat at the kitchen table playing on the computer and drinking coffee. Jim and I were both looking at the weather radar, hoping that there would be a spot that didn’t have green or yellow right above Roger William’s Park. Jim asked me if we wanted to call the registration money a donation and skip the run.

I wanted to say yes. I wanted to just hang out at the house and have a lazy, rainy Saturday. I thought about it for a moment before I answered. Though I knew it would be nicer to not run in the crap weather, I thought about my upcoming races. If the weather at the Marine Corps Marathon is bad, I would still go and run it. We had done other races in the rain. So with some hesitation I told Jim we still needed to go up and run.

When we got to Roger William’s Park we met up with the rest of our Coast(ie) crew. Seven of us showed up on this wet, soggy Saturday. And seven of us crossed the finish line of the Girls on the Run 5k. The weather dampened our clothes, but not our spirits.

Great run and thanks for everyone who participated!

Leave a Reply

