The Power of Two

Standard

There has been a question plaguing me, how fast can I really run a half marathon?

I look at the numbers in the running calculator based on my 5k time. And I see the projected pace for my run. I have never done what I think I am capable of doing on a run. I have yet to really challenge myself to see how fast I can go.

The night before the princess run I had some turmoil. Should I run in B corral or fall back to run with the other coast(ie)s running? It was a question that kept me up for quite some time. After some restless moments a feeling of peace came upon me. I know what the right thing to do was.

We all agreed to fall back to E corral to start with Faye. I ran the first mile with her and then caught up to Mehgan and Kelly. Eventually we lost Kelly in the crowd and she finished in a very respectable 2:20. Her negative split for the last 10k was remarkable.

I felt my kick around mile 8. I could have flown. But instead of taking off I stayed with Mehgan. We had made it that far and I wasn’t ready to abandon her. I know what it’s like to run your first big run alone. I know how hard that it. And I know that I would have given so much to have someone more experienced running along side me not only telling me that I could do it, but I could run better than I was running.

I’m sure there will come a time when I can find out how fast I can be. But that time isn’t right now.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Two

  1. Mehgan

    Thank you so much for staying with me! That was the nicest thing anyone has done for a long time. I felt fearless and accomplished. We’ll run again’ and kick some ass!

  2. Candi

    Knowing that your running partner is going to stay with you – no matter how much you complain or walk – is so uplifting. I’ve run three half marathons with Kelly and she has always stayed with me, coaching me…encouraging me. And I do that for people that run slower than I do because of her example. The time to kick ass will come when it comes. You can’t underestimate how much that running buddy’s support means!

Leave a Reply

