Exercise Machine for the Brain

Standard

There seems to be workout equipment, plans, and videos for pretty much every muscle in the body. They get you big, tone, and strong. Unfortunately the part of the body that needed work for me yesterday was my head. Yes I did run 13 miles yesterday, but it wasn’t pretty. My legs were moving, my arms were swinging, I kept on shuffling the bike trail from Bristol, to Warren, to Barrington and back.

The first part was easy, at least once I got moving. Nothing hurts then. In the beginning you don’t get wrapped around how far you are going or how long it is taking. Around mile 7 something went wrong. I’m not sure if it was because I missed hearing my watch beep for my mile split or if I was just getting mentally fatigued. Though it may not have looked like it on the outside from that point on it was a mental struggle.

I missed my 8 mile split as well. And after running 8 miles I said to myself, I’ve only got 5 more to go, it did not seem to put me in the right frame of mind. Normally when I think 5 miles I visualize a nice short run, click off the miles one by one until I am finished.

Yesterday I had to fight with my mind. I wanted to stop. I wanted to be done with running for the day. I convinced myself that I was running too slow and it was a crappy training run. I kept moving and it  wasn’t until mile 11 that I almost reached my breaking point. I started walking. Jim hopped off his bike to walk with me. He offered to ride ahead and pick me up at the park. I told him no.

I had to take the time to get my head back in order. I needed to put my run in perspective. And most importantly I had to finish what I had started.

In order to do this I needed to exercise the part of the body that controls the rest, my brain. Breathe, relax, and start moving, and that is what I did.

Leave a Reply

